Emirates Cricket Board announce team to represent the UAE in their Inaugural Desert T20 Tournament's first game

Emirates Cricket Board has today announced the team that will represent the UAE in their Inaugural Desert T20 Tournament's opening game against Namibia on Sunday January 15th (7pm) at Abu Dhabi’s Zayed Cricket Stadium.

Waleed Bukhatir, Emirates Cricket Board Member and Chief Selector said; “We are very confident in the players who have been selected ahead of UAE's first game (against Namibia), and we are expecting our team to post a strong, winning result.” “This group of players continues to encourage the Board with their commitment to increasing their fitness levels, fine-tuning their skills, and embracing a winning mind-set, we look forward to their hard work being rewarded.”  

“There are eight, talented Associates competing in this tournament, which will provide supporters and followers of all participating countries with 7-days of compelling, engaging cricket. Emirates Cricket is very proud to act as host and bring this opportunity to our fellow Associates.” added Bukhatir.

UAE (14) have been drawn in Pool A and are joined by Afghanistan (9), Ireland (17) and Namibia (NR). Pool B is The Netherlands (11), Scotland (13), Oman (16) and Hong Kong (15).

The team that will represent the UAE is;

Amjad Javed                      

Mohammed Shahzad

Shaiman Anwar 

Rohan Mustafa

Mohammed Usman

Rameez Shahzad

Ghulam Shabbir

Mohammed Qasim

Adnan Mufti

Mohammed Naveed

Ahmed Raza

Imran Haider

Mohammed Shanil

Zahoor Ahmed

The Desert T20 Tournament sees eight of the top Associates teams compete in a round-robin format commencing on Saturday January 14th through to Tuesday January 17th at Abu Dhabi Cricket Club's Zayed Cricket Stadium. Games played on Wednesday 18th and Thursday 19th will be hosted at Dubai Sports City's International Cricket Stadium including the triple-header finals which will be played Friday January 20th. Entry to all games is free.