Emirates Cricket’s Inaugural ‘UAE Cricket Leagues’ Men’s T20 series continued Thursday evening, at the Dubai International Stadium, with a quality match-up between Dubai CC and Sharjah CC. 

After being put in to bat by Sharjah, Dubai posted a very competitive 200-runs (for loss of 4 wickets) at innings end.

A quality opening partnership between Waqas Raja (39-runs off 23-balls), including 4 sixes, and Chirag Suri (55-runs off 35-balls) set-up the Dubai innings. Adnan Mufti (40 not out) maintained the momentum and finished it off adding a flurry of fours and a six to his kit-bag. 

In almost identical fashion, Sharjah opened their account with an opening stand of 53 (from 34-balls) between Jiju Janardhanan and Abdul Shakoor.

However, a consistent fall of wickets kept Sharjah behind in their chase, despite a stunning cameo from Mohammed Ubadah (25-runs off 8-balls), including 3 sixes, which gave Sharjah a glimmer of hope. That hope continued through to the final-over where Sharjah needed 22 runs to win, but Dubai soon closed in the ranks to restrict Sharjah to close with 184-runs (for loss of 8), handing Dubai a 16-run win.

“We’re very happy with tonight’s win. We’re 2 strong sides, so it was going to be very good game.” commented Ahmed Raza, Dubai Cricket Council Captain.

“We were confident we could defend our total, and credit to Sharjah, they fought back toward the end and started to score sixes pretty quickly, and I’m very pleased our boys put the pressure back on them to reel them back.” “We’re excited about this series, it tests players, puts them under pressure mentally and physically, and it will benefit UAE Cricket’s future immensely.” added Raza.

Friday’s double-header will be an absolute thriller with all Councils now sitting on one win-a-piece. Friday’s first match will see Ajman play Dubai (3pm), followed by Sharjah against Abu Dhabi (7pm). Both matches will be played at Dubai International Cricket Stadium and entry to watch both games is free.

Bringing together the four Councils of Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Dubai and Sharjah, the Men’s T20 series is the third series in the Inaugural UAE Cricket Leagues. The Leagues will be played in the highly-popular formats of T20 and 50-over formats in boys, women’s and men’s categories, and will be played through a 28 match-schedule across the UAE. 

- ends -

Full score card visit https://bit.ly/2quGf7K - please note registration and sign-in required