Emirates Cricket Board have today announced the first ever nine-day UAE International Women's T20 tournament.

Seven countries have confirmed participation in this inaugural event where the tournament's first pool games will be played at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium on December 14th. Pool games will then alternate between Sharjah Cricket Stadium and the recently opened Ajman Cricket Council's Eden Ground through to the final, to be played on December 19th at the Sharjah Cricket Club.

The UAE has a strong record of hosting international cricket, in particular Men's ODI's and the T20's, and the sport is now seeing a great drive, and reach into the women's game. This tournament is integral in Emirates Cricket Board's efforts to develop and support women's cricket both in the UAE, and for neighbouring unions, which dovetails into the International Cricket Council's development program.

“This tournament will help improve cricketing standards among women in the UAE, the GCC and our visiting countries,” commented Zayed Abbas, Executive Member Emirates Cricket Board.

Humairy Tasneem, UAE Women's T20 Captain said "We are grateful to Emirates Cricket Board to provide such a wonderful opportunity to play against better sides, and through such tournaments our aim is to be competitive enough to qualify for the next Women's T20 Cup. We look forward to welcoming the countries participating in this inaugural event to the UAE."

Group A includes: Kenya, Qatar, Malaysia and the UAE, with Group B showcasing Kuwait, Oman and Uganda.

Emirates Cricket recently announced the team that will represent the UAE at the tournament; 

Chaya Mughal

Esha Oza

Fatimah Ahsan

Humaira Tasneem (C)

Ishani Senevirathne

Kavisha Kumari

Kyna Vedhasinghe

Natasha Michael (VC)

Neha Sharma

Nisha Ali

Priyanjali Jain

Roopa Nagaraj

Samiya Salim

Shalani Wanniarachchi

Subha Srinivasan


UAE support team include;

Hyder Kazmi – Coach

Chaitrali Kalgutkar - Manager