Sharjah reign supreme in Emirates Cricket's Inaugural 'UAE Cricket Leagues' Men's T20

Sharjah Cricket Council have been crowned the Emirates Cricket ‘UAE Cricket Leagues’ Men’s T20 Champions 2018. 

Having won the toss Sharjah sent Dubai in to bat and were on the front foot from the onset. 

An impressive performance from a tight Sharjah unit stunned Dubai where Saif Ullah and Mohammad Naveed claimed four wickets in first four overs for a paltry 11-runs.

Only 2 batsmen could reach double figures, and, despite Mohammad Qasim’s 56-runs (off 51-balls) and Mohammad Ali’s 24-runs (off 22-balls), Dubai were only able to record an innings total of 117-runs (for loss of 9-wickets).

After losing opener Syed Maqsood by run-out in the 3rd (over), Sharjah’sAbdul Shakoor (not out on 58-runs from 56-balls) and Rohan Mustafa (42-runs off 37-balls) dug-in and added an 80-run partnership to the scoreboard comfortably setting-up Sharjah’s win by the start of the 18th(over).

Rohan Mustafa, Sharjah CC Captain applauded the team’s win and the series: “We are absolutely thrilled to win the Inaugural tournament. It is a great boost for Cricket in Sharjah, as well as for UAE Cricket.” “This series is a great opportunity for players, representing their Councils, to play and perform through this type of tournament and to be seen by UAE (Cricket) scouts and selectors.” 

“It is an incredibly proud moment, to bring the Leagues to fruition and to see the quality of cricket, and the depth, we have here in the UAE.” said Zayed Abbas, Emirates Cricket Spokesperson and Board Member. “We now have all categories and age-groups under one League, which is very exciting. One of our main objectives (through the Leagues) is to see players who we have not had the chance to be seen, and to provide them with a platform to be scouted. I would like to congratulate Emirates Cricket, and especially our four Councils for their support and commitment to making these Leagues happen.” added Abbas.

Bringing together the four Councils of Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Dubai and Sharjah, the Men’s T20 series was the third series in the Inaugural UAE Cricket Leagues. The Leagues consist of the highly-popular formats of T20 and 50-over formats, played in boys, women’s and men’s categories, and will be played through a 28 match-schedule across the UAE. 


- ends -


Full scorecard - (note - registration and log in required)