Emirates Cricket Board announces team to represent the UAE in bilateral ODI series against Zimbabwe

Emirates Cricket Board has today confirmed the team that will represent the UAE in the upcoming four-match ODI bilateral series against Zimbabwe.

Having started their 2018/2019 season with a historic and exciting T20i against full Test Nation, Australia (in October of last year), UAE Cricket will reach another milestone in their history playing their first-ever bilateral ODI series against another full Test Nation, Zimbabwe, commencing Wednesday April 10. 

“We have a very strong relationship with Zimbabwe Cricket having established a reciprocal playing agreement in 2017 which commenced with our National side playing Zimbabwe A in a five-match series during their tour of the UAE. Further to this agreement, and with thanks to the positive and supportive discussions with Zimbabwe Cricket, we are thrilled that our National side will now be playing theirfirst ODI series against a full Test Nation.” Waleed Bukhatir, Emirates Cricket Board Member and Chief Selector said. 

“This series is a testament to the quality of not only UAE’s National side, but to the growing levels and abilities of Associate Cricket.” “Such achievements can only happen by nurturing relationships with various Full Member boards, and through Emirates Cricket Board’s vision and leadership we are very pleased to maintain and strengthen these relationships and see these milestones reached, we are very grateful to all involved.” added Bukhatir.

The four-match ODI series will be played Wednesday April 10, Friday April 12, Sunday April 14 and Tuesday April 16All games will be played at the Harare Sports Club in Harare, Zimbabwe starting at 09:30 (Zimbabwe-time).

The team that will represent the UAE in the ODI Bilateral series against Zimbabwe is;

Muhammad Naveed (C)

Rohan Mustafa

Ashfaq Ahmed

Shaiman Anwar

Muhammad Usman

CP Rizwan

Chirag Suri

Muhammad Boota

Ghulam Shabbir 

Sultan Ahmed 

Imran Haider

Amir Hayat

Zahoor Khan

Qadeer Ahmed