Emirates Cricket Board set to host Asian Cricket Council U19 Western Region Tournament

Emirates Cricket Board has been officially announced as host for the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) Under-19 (U19) Western Region tournament.

Matches will commence on Friday, April 26thand continue through to Friday, May 3rd2019, and will be played at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium, the ICC Academy (Dubai), The Sevens Stadium’s Sir Maurice Flanagan Oval and Ajman’s Eden Garden(UAE).

A total of eight teams; Oman, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Qatar, Bahrain, Iran, Maldives, and hosts UAE, will vie for the title of ACC Western Region U19 champions.

UAE has been drawn into Pool A alongside Saudi, Bahrain and Iran with Pool B will showcase Oman, Qatar, Maldives and Kuwait.

Zayed Abbas, Emirates Cricket Board Member and Spokesperson, said: “We are very grateful to the Asian Cricket Council for awarding us hosts of the 2019 ACC U19 (Western Region) tournament.” “UAE offers numerous world-renowned cricket stadia, ovals and practice facilities, this combined with our proven experience in organizing and hosting regional and international world class tournaments continues to see Emirates Cricket Board be recognised and utilised. We look forward to welcoming our neighboring unions and wish all teams a rewarding series.”  

The team that will represent the UAE is;

Fahad Choudhry (C)

Vriitya Aravind

Aaron Benjamin

Brandon Martis 

Osama Hassan

Niel Lobo

Alishan Sharafu

Syed Haider Shah

Mohammed Faraazuddin

Akasha Tahir

Karthik Meiyappan 

Muhammad Mirza

Aryan Lakra

Ansh Tandon