UAE to compete in six-team Gulf Cricket T20I Championship 2023

Publish at: September 11 2023

Dubai, 11 September 2023: Mohammad Waseem will lead the UAE Men’s side in the Gulf Cricket T2oI Championship which will be played in Doha, Qatar from Friday, 15 September. The six-team tournament features the hosts Qatar, Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman and Saudi Arabia besides UAE. Each team will play all others once in the group stage. The top two teams at the end of the group stage will compete in the Friday, 23 September final.


Uncapped Left-Arm Spinner Nilansh Keswani has been included in the 15-member UAE squad. Seamer Raja Akifullah Khan returns to the UAE side, the right-armer last featured in the T20I series against Afghanistan in February this year. The remaining 13 players took part in UAE’s hard fought T20I series against New Zealand last month which the hosts narrowly lost (2-1) in Dubai. 


UAE open their Gulf Cricket T20I Championship 2023 campaign with a match against Oman on 16 September. They play Saudi Arabia on 17th, Kuwait on 19th, Qatar on 20th and Bahrain on 22nd September. 


UAE squad for Gulf Cricket T20I Championship 2023: Mohammad Waseem (captain), Ali Naseer, Aayan Afzal Khan, Ansh Tandon, Aryansh Sharma, Asif Khan, Basil Hameed, Junaid Siddique, Muhammad Faraazuddin, Muhammad Jawadullah, Nilansh Keswani, Raja Akifullah Khan, Sanchit Sharma, Vriitya Aravind and Zahoor Khan. 


Support staff: Amjad Ezzi (manager), Mudassar Nazar (head coach), Ahmed Raza (assistant coach), Azharuddin Qureshi (strength and conditioning coach), Karthikeyan Rathinam (analyst) and Manish Pardeshi (physiotherapist). 


Gulf Cricket T20I Championship 2023 – UAE’s matches:

16 September – Oman vs UAE 

17 September – UAE vs Saudi Arabia 

19 September – Kuwait vs UAE

20 September – Qatar vs UAE

22 September – UAE vs Bahrain

23 September – Final 

                                                                                    - ENDS -