ECB announce the team that will represent the UAE at UAE v Nepal ODI Series

Publish at: November 12 2022

Emirates Cricket Board has today announced the team that will travel to Nepal to compete in the upcoming UAE v Nepal ODI Series. 


Commencing Monday, November 14th the three-match series will continue on Wednesday November 16th, and conclude Friday November 18th (2022).


Dr. Tayeb Kamali, Selection Committee Chairman, Emirates Cricket. “This ODI series with Nepal is yet another opportunity for Emirates Cricket as we look toward to the next ICC Cricket World Cup League 2 match-cycle. We are delighted to bring in young, and energetic new talent into the men’s side and wish them the very best in Nepal.” “We also extend our thanks to the Cricket Association of Nepal for hosting and delivering this ODI series, which very much supports both our sides preparations for a hectic international calendar in 2023.” 


UAE’s traveling squad is; C.P. Rizwaan (C), Muhammad Waseem, Vriitya Aravind, Basil Hameed, Rohan Mustafa, Ashwanth Valthapa, Vishnu Sukumaran, Alishan Sharafu, Adithya Shetty, Ahmed Raza, Zahoor Khan, Junaid Siddique, Sabir Ali, Hazrat Bilal, and Aayan Khan.


While a number of players are unavailable through scheduling-conflicts or are resting, and with a changing dynamic within the team’s structure, Robin Singh, Director of Cricket and National Teams’ Head Coach sees this as an opportunity to bring in, and promote players who have shown commitment and skill. “This ODI series will provide this mix of youth and experience with a solid opportunity to test their abilities and perform under differing conditions, under a different environment, and assess our capabilities as a developing team.” “We are building a team for the future, and with the Cricket World Cup (2023) qualifying pathway now our focus, it remains our intent to build a team that is committed to not only team-cohesiveness but for the future of Emirates Cricket.”


All matches will be played at the Tribhuvan University Cricket Ground (Kathmandu, Nepal), starting at 09:00 (local time).


- Ends -